Le Théâtre catapulte presents

Manman la mer

Distribution

Djennie Laguerre

Creative Team

  • Written and performed by Djennie Laguerre
  • Direction Kamana Ntibarikure
  • Music, performance and creative support Sara Rénélik
  • Sound design Elena Stoodley
  • Set design Benoît Brunet-Poirier
  • Lighting and projections Shawn Henry
  • Costume design Isabelle Bélisle
  • Direction assistance and stage management (original run) Katie Rochford
  • Production management (original run) Kyle Ahluwalia
  • 2022 remount oversight Danielle Le Saux-Famer
Show Sponsors
Sponsor
Patron
Publicités
TD

Synopsis

TO APPEASE HER MOTHER, MARJOLAINE HIDES HER GIFT OF CLAIRVOYANCE TO HER FAMILY… but twenty-six years later, she is struck by a mysterious illness that modern medicine is unable to treat. With no other options, Marjolaine travels to Haiti to seek the healing powers of her grandmother, Manman La Mer … Performed by Djennie Laguerre with great sensibility, Manman La Mer puts Caribbean women and spirituality in the spotlight and explores with humour and authenticity the sometimes complicated relationships between mothers and daughters.

A Word from the Author

Djennie Laguerre

Manman la mer is a story that flowed from my pen at a time when I didn’t think I had another story to share onstage, in spite of being asked for ten years following my previous tale, Rendez- vous Lakay.
Manman la mer: a story that was brought to light through the character “Manman la Mè” who is neither magical nor mystical… until these talented and visionary artists, on the wings of the “sweet and wise” Catapulte, stage this love story that envelops three generations of women.

We tell you the story under the direction “of the Ancestors and with the charms of a Haitian storyteller.” AYIBOBO ASHE

Dedicated to my mother: a COURAGEOUS woman, a woman with heart.

Djennie Laguerre,
Author and storyteller, Manman la mer

A Word from TfT’s Artistic Director

Karine Ricard

Dear audience,

After having previously presented Espoir/Espwa and Rendez-vous with Home at TfT, we’re now very excited to welcome Manman La Mer, Djennie Laguerre’s most recent work. Author, storyteller, artist, mother, she continues to share with us love stories and characters inspired by her own life experiences.

In her Haitian oral tradition, she delves into her relationship with her mother and describes what both separates and brings them together. Regardless of our culture of origin, we can easily recognize ourselves in this multigenerational relationship and these characters anchored in everyday life. It is indeed our mothers, our daughters, our colleagues and our families who leave a mark on our lives; who reconcile us with our past and guide our present and future.

Every time I hear one of Djennie’s original works, I listen attentively to her magical way of demystifying the sacred, breaking the fourth wall, and taking us, with humour, into a universe that touches our hearts.

Karine Ricard

A Word from the Artistic Director

Danielle Le-Saux Farmer

Kamana. Sara. Djennie. Shawn. Isabelle. Katie. Elena.
Women of courage
Women of faith
Women of heart and conviction
Women of wonder

When a group of exceptional artists and women come together, something unexpected and magical happens.

****

When I became artistic director of Théâtre Catapulte in June 2017, I made a secret wish, a dream goal that I kept to myself, to one day work with Djennie Laguerre. This actor-storyteller is such a keen, brilliant virtuoso. At the reading of a few pages of the exquisite Manman la mer, her fiery and vivid world, the constellation of female characters grappling with displacement and loss of self, instantly grabbed me. And the stars aligned: Djennie agreed to develop her script with us.

Next, the project Manman la mer quite unexpectedly became an amazing, rich convergence of a team of creators of all backgrounds driven by a desire to create a warm and transformative theatrical event. You will find some find some very precious parts of each one of them in the tale that we will tell you tonight.

For me, this story seeks to ratify a slow but sure reconciliation with our roots and the divinity that lives in each one of us, if we are there to listen.

And what remains at the end of this process, and at the start of the offering of this tale to the audience, is a deep feeling of gratitude.

Thank you to you, dear artists, for your generosity. You are vast like the sea.

Danielle Le-Saux Farmer
Artistic Director, Théâtre Catapulte

Principal Artists Biographies

Djennie Laguerre

Djennie Laguerre

Author and Performer

Djennie Laguerre is a graduate of the Stella Adler Acting Conservatory, New York, and the University of Ottawa (B.A., Theatre). Onstage, Djennie has been part of the production and tour of Rendez-vous with Home/ Rendez-vous Lakay by Black Theatre Workshops; Espoir/Espwa, Le malade imaginaire, Les Zinspirés and Les Zinspirés 3D (Théâtre français de Toronto); Seventeen (Anonymous) Women (Infintheatre); REZ SISTERS (Factory Theatre).

She wrote and starred in Rendez-vous with Home/Rendez-vous Lakay (SummerWorks Festival, 2008, and Théâtre français de Toronto), also presented in several storytelling festivals such as Les Contes nomades (CNA, Café) and Festival le loup de Lafontaine. She is proud of its ambitious two-version tour (English and French) with the iconic Black Theatre Workshop (Montréal, 2018).

META nomination for Best Actress for Rendez-vous with Home/ Rendez-vous Lakay (BTW 2018 production & also toured November 2019). Film/TV: Madame Bonheur on MiniTFO; Flashpoint; Degrassi Junior High. Rendez-vous with Home won the Spotlight Performance Award at the SummerWorks Theatre Festival. She has received several nominations: Dora for Outstanding Performance- Ensemble for Les Zinspirés (2012), Outstanding Performance by an Individual and Outstanding Performance by Ensemble for Les ZINSPIRÉS 3D. In development, her next show Taking care of ‘Maman’ produced by Roseneath Theatre is scheduled to tour within schools.

Kamana Ntibarikure

Kamana Ntibarikure

Direction and Set Design

Kamana Ntibarikure is a multifaceted, trilingual artist. Acting, movement, and music have always been her preferred mediums of creative expression, and she uses them to build bridges between the two solitudes. She played the lead role of Dolorès Van Cartier in the musical comedy Sister Act at the Just for Laughs Festival. Past artistic director of the CETM (the Centre for Education and Theatre in Montréal), she organized the 8th edition of the Festival Nouvelle Vague (Next Wave) which celebrates new musical theatre.

Notable recent directing credits include the play Rendez-Vous with Home (Black Theatre Workshop) for which she received a META (Montréal English Theatre Awards) nomination in the Outstanding Direction category. She also directed an historic collaboration between Black Theatre Workshop and Théâtre d’Aujourd’hui: the presentation of the play Angélique by Lorena Gale in translation, in Montréal last December.

With Manman la mer, Kamana is delighted to mark her first collaboration with Théâtre Catapulte.

Sara Rénélik

Sara Rénélik

Composer, Musician, and Creative Consultant

A singer-songwriter, choreographer, and dancer, Sara Rénélik has worked onstage internationally for several years. After having participated in multiple projects (singer and backup for Eval Manigat & Tchaka, Emeline Michel, Luck Mervil, Yaya Diallo, Erol Josué, and the renowned Azor as well as choreographer/dancer for Céline Dion, Cirque du Soleil, and Line One, among others), she launched her album Aube in 2006 to great success. She then relocated to the island of her ancestors, Quisqueya (the island comprising Haïti and the Dominican Republic) and collaborated on multiple projects promoting Haitian culture in the Caribbean and Central America, notably with the Embassies of Haiti, the Dominican Republic, and Panama; the Canadian Embassy in the Dominican Republic; the Zile Foundation, ACNURR; and the European Union through the Haïti-Dominican Republic Binational Cooperation Program. After this extended sojourn full of learning and adventures, she shares both her experience and part of her new repertoire inspired by Haiti’s rasin style and traditional rhythms, Taino culture, and contemporary styles such as folk, rock and blues.

Gallery

Manman la mer
Manman la mer
Manman la mer
Manman la mer
Manman la mer
Manman la mer

Sibylle Berger

Le Théâtre catapulte présente

Manman la mer

Distribution

Djennie Laguerre

Équipe de création

  • Texte et interprétation Djennie Laguerre
  • Mise en scène et conception de l’espace Kamana Ntibarikure
  • Musique et appui à la création Sara Rénélik
  • Composition et environnement sonore Elena Stoodley
  • Conseiller à la scénographie et construction des décors Benoît Brunet-Poirier
  • Éclairages et projections Shawn Henry
  • Costumes Isabelle Bélisle
  • Assistance à la mise en scène et régie à la création Katie Rochford
  • Direction de production à la création Kyle Ahluwalia
  • Remise en forme pour la version de 2022 Danielle Le Saux-Famer
Commanditaires de Spectacle
Marraine

Synopsis

POUR SATISFAIRE SA MÈRE, MARJOLAINE, ALORS ENFANT, ÉTOUFFE SON DON DE CLAIRVOYANCE…mais vingt-six ans plus tard, la voilà frappée par une maladie mystérieuse que la médecine moderne ne semble pas pouvoir guérir. Dépourvu d’option, Marjolaine se rend en Haïti pour s’en remettre aux bons soins de sa grand-mère… Conté par Djennie Laguerre avec sensibilité, Manman la mer met la femme et la spiritualité antillaise à l’honneur, et explore avec humour et authenticité les thèmes des relations mère-fille.

Mot de l’autrice

Manman la mer est une histoire qui s’est invitée à ma plume à un moment où je ne pensais pas avoir une autre histoire à partager sur scène, malgré qu’on me demande depuis dix ans la suite de mon conte précédent, Rendez- vous Lakay.
Manman la mer une histoire qui s’est révélée par le biais de ce personnage de «Manman la Mè» qui n’a rien de magique ni de mystique… jusqu’à ce que des artistes pleines de talents et de visions, sur les ailes de la « douce et sage » Catapulte, mettent sur scène cette histoire d’amour qui enveloppe trois générations de femmes.

On vous la conte sous la direction «…des Ancêtres et avec les charmes d’une Conteuse Haïtienne. » AYIBOBO ASHE

Dédicace à ma Maman : une femme VAILLANTE, une femme de cœur.

Djennie Laguerre,
Autrice et interprète de Manman la mer

Mot de la directrice artistique

Danielle Le-Saux Farmer

Kamana. Sara. Djennie. Shawn. Isabelle. Katie. Elena. Femmes de courage
Femmes de foi
Femmes de cœur et de conviction Femmes de merveille

Quand un groupe d’artistes et femmes d’exception sont ainsi réunies, il se passe quelque chose d’insoupçonné, de magique.

****

En juin 2017, au moment d’amorcer ma direction artistique au Théâtre Catapulte, j’ai formulé un premier souhait secret, un objectif rêvé que je gardais pour moi, d’un jour travailler avec Djennie Laguerre. Cette comédienne-conteuse est un feu d’artifice, si vive et étincelante. À la lecture des quelques pages esquissant Manman la mer, son univers fougueux et coloré, la constellation de personnages féminins aux prises avec le déracinement et la perte de soi, m’a instantanément happée. Et c’est là que les astres se sont alignés : Djennie a accepté de créer son texte chez nous.

Ensuite, le projet Manman la mer est devenu une rencontre étonnante et foisonnante, quasiment inattendue, entre une équipe de créatrices de tous les horizons, animées par cette envie de créer un événement théâtral chaleureux et transformateur. Vous trouverez des parts bien précieuses de chacune d’elles dans le spectacle ce qu’on vous raconte aujourd’hui.

Pour moi, cette histoire cherche à sceller une réconciliation lente, mais certaine, avec nos racines et la divinité qui réside en chacune et chacun de nous, si on est là pour l’écouter.

Et ce qui reste à la fin de ce processus, et au début de l’offrande de ce conte au public, c’est un grand sentiment de gratitude.

Merci à vous, chères artistes, de votre générosité. Vous êtes vastes comme la mer.

Danielle Le-Saux Farmer
Directrice artistique du Théâtre Catapulte

Biographie des artistes principales

Djennie Laguerre

Djennie Laguerre

Texte et interprétation

Diplômée du Stella Adler Acting Conservatory, à New York, et de l’Université d’Ottawa (Bac en Art; Théâtre), Djennie est très présente sur scène, notamment dans des productions telles que Rendez-vous with Home/ Rendez-vous Lakay (Black Theatre Workshops), Espoir/ Espwa, Le Malade imaginaire, LES ZINSPIRÉS et LES ZINSPIRÉS 3D (Théâtre français de Toronto), Seventeen (Anonymous) Women (Infinitheatre) et REZ SISTERS (Factory Theatre).

Écrivaine et interprète de Rendez-vous with Home/ Rendez-vous Lakay (SummerWorks Festival en 2008 et Théâtre français de Toronto), cette création a aussi été présentée dans plusieurs festivals de contes tels que Les Contes nomades (CNA, Café) et Le Festival Le Loup de Lafontaine. Elle est aussi fière d’avoir entrepris une tournée ambitieuse des deux versions (anglaise et française) en collaboration avec l’emblématique Black Theatre Workshop (Montréal, 2018).

Djennie a d’ailleurs été nominée aux prix META pour Best Actress pour sa performance dans Rendez-vous with Home/ Rendez-vous Lakay et a aussi reçu le Spotlight Award du Summerworks Festival. Djennie est aussi nominée à plusieurs reprises aux Prix Dora Mavor Moore : Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble (2012 et 2014), Outstanding Performance by an Individual (2014) pour ses performances dans Les Zinspirés (Théâtre français de Toronto). À la télévision, on a pu la voir dans : Madame Bonheur sur MiniTFO, Flashpoint, Degrassi Junior High.

Djennie travaille actuellement sur Taking Care of « Maman », sa toute nouvelle pièce qui sera produite par Roseneath Theatre et destinée à la tournée dans les écoles.

Kamana Ntibarikure

Kamana Ntibarikure

Mise en scène et conception de l’espace

Kamana Ntibarikure est une artiste trilingue aux multiples facettes. L’interprétation, le mouvement et la musique ont toujours été ses médiums favoris pour exprimer sa créativité et elle les utilise pour bâtir des ponts entre les deux solitudes. Elle a interprété le rôle principal de Dolorès Van Cartier dans la comédie musicale Sister Act dans le cadre du Festival Juste Pour Rire. Ancienne directrice artistique du CETM (Centre Éducatif pour le Théâtre à Montréal), elle a mis sur pied la 8ème édition du festival Nouvelle Vague (Next Wave) qui célèbre le nouveau théâtre musical.

Ses derniers crédits de mise en scène incluent, notamment, la pièce Rendez-Vous with Home (Black Theatre Workshop), pour laquelle elle a été nominée dans le cadre des METAs (Montreal English Theatre Awards) dans la catégorie Outstanding Direction (mise en scène exceptionnelle). Elle a également dirigé la mise en scène d’une collaboration historique entre le Black Theatre Workshop et le Théâtre d’Aujourd’hui : la présentation de la traduction de la pièce Angélique par Lorena Gale, à Montréal en décembre dernier.

Avec Manman la mer, Kamana signe sa première collaboration avec le Théâtre Catapulte et elle en est ravie.

Sara Rénélik

Sara Rénélik

Musique et appui à la création

À la fois auteure-compositeure-interprète, chorégraphe et danseuse, Sara Rénélik œuvre sur la scène internationale depuis plusieurs années. Après avoir participé à de multiples projets (chanteuse et choriste pour Eval Manigat & Tchaka, Emeline Michel, Luck Mervil, Yaya Diallo, Erol Josué et le fameux Azor et aussi chorégraphe/danseuse pour Céline Dion, Cirque du Soleil et Line One, entre autres) elle lança son album Aube en 2006 qui connut un franc succès. Elle s’installe ensuite sur l’île de ses ancêtres, Quisqueya (île qui regroupe Haïti et la République Dominicaine), et collabore à de multiples projets pour la promotion de la culture haïtienne dans les Caraïbes et en Amérique Centrale notamment avec les Ambassades d’Haïti, de la République Dominicaine et du Panama, l’Ambassade du Canada en RD, la Fondation Zile, l’ACNURR et l’Union européenne à travers le Programme de Coopération Binationale, Haïti-République Dominicaine. Après ce long séjour rempli d’apprentissages et d’expériences, elle partage tant son expérience qu’une partie de son nouveau répertoire inspiré du style rasin d’Haïti et de ses rythmes traditionnels, de la culture taïno et des styles contemporains tels que le folk, le rock et le blues.

En images

Manman la mer
Manman la mer
Manman la mer
Manman la mer
Manman la mer
Manman la mer

Sibylle Berger